Guest Artists

Our conference will feature four fantastic guest artists including:

Kenneth Radnofsky has appeared as soloist with leading orchestras throughout the world, including the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra and New York Philharmonic under Kurt Masur.  Radnofsky gave the world premiere of Gunther Schuller’s Concerto with the Pittsburgh Symphony (composer conducting). David Amram’s Concerto, ‘Ode to Lord Buckley,’ was premiered with the Portland Symphony, under Bruce Hangen’s direction.  Radnofsky has premiered the concerti of Michael Colgrass, Donald Martino, Michael Gandolfi, Betty Olivero, James Yannatos, Baris Perker, Elliott Schwartz, Yang Yong, and Allen Johnson, and has also commissioned Larry Bell, Milton Babbitt, Ezra Sims, Pasquale Tassone, Armand Qualliotine, Roger Bourland, Michael Horvit, John McDonald, Christian Yufra, Juan Ruiz, Jaime Fatas, Shih-Hui Chen, Lei Liang, Jakov Jakoulov, and an innovative commission of John Harbison for a Sonata, premiered by 43 saxophonists world-wide in an effort founded/organized by Radnofsky entitled World-Wide Concurrent Premieres, Inc.  He is President of the Boston Woodwind Society, providing assistance to woodwind students, succeeding its late founder Matthew Ruggiero. He is partner with Michael Couper in RCEditions.

Kenneth Radnofsky’s teachers were Joseph Allard, Jeffrey Lerner, David Salge, Steven Hoyle, Terry Anderson and Duncan Hale. He teaches at Boston and New England Conservatories, Longy School of Bard College, Boston University, and world-wide, including China, Taiwan and South America.  He is a Buffet Artist.  For more information please visit his website at:


Otis Murphy--2013 Casual Photo

Otis Murphy,  –

Otis Murphy holds the position of Associate Professor of Saxophone in the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, joining the faculty at the age of 28 and becoming one of the youngest faculty members in its history.  He is in great demand as an international soloist and clinician, having gained wide recognition on four continents: North America (United States and Canada), Europe (Austria, Belgium, England, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland and Wales), Asia (Japan, Singapore and Taiwan), and Australia.  Dr. Murphy has performed in some of the great concert halls of the world including Isaac Stern Concert Hall in Japan; Merkin Concert Hall in New York City; Palau de la Musica in Valencia; the Strathmore in Washington, D. C.; Opera City Concert Hall in Tokyo; Palacio Euskalduna in Spain; Phoenix Hall in Osaka; and Casals Hall in Tokyo.  He also has presented saxophone classes and appeared as a guest professor at prestigious music schools and festivals throughout the world including the Amsterdam Conservatory, Cologne Academy of Music, Frankfurt International Saxophone Festival, Hamamatsu International Wind Instrument Academy and Festival, Institut Franz Schubert, Liceu de Barcelona, Madrid Royal Conservatory, Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinic, Osaka College of Music, Ravenna Music Festival, London Royal College of Music, Sydney Conservatorium, World Saxophone Congress, and many more.  As a soloist, Dr. Murphy has been a featured guest soloist with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Tokyo Sinfonia, Flint Symphony Orchestra, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, Royal Chamber Orchestra of Wallonie, Bruno Moderna Chamber Orchestra, Musashino Wind Ensemble, United States Navy Band, and Yamaha Symphonic Band.

Jean-Michel Goury

JEAN-MICHEL GOURY was born in Tonneins, France ans was nurtured in music by his father, Pierre Goury, Secretary of the French National Association of Bands.

He studied at the Conservatoire National de Musique de Bordeaux and received the Médaille d’Or (given unanimously by the jury) in saxophone while studying with Jean-Marie Londeix.

He also completed distinguished musical studies in musical analysis with François Rossé, wind ensemble conducting with André Leclercq, and chamber music with Francis Vallone.

He has won first prize in a number of national and international music competitions, including Aix-le-Bains in 1980, where he received congratulatory remarks from the president of the jury, legendary saxophonist Marcel Mule.

Since receiving the Certificat d’Aptitude (France’s highest teaching diploma in music) in 1982, Jean-Michel has taught in the French Conservatory system, first at the Conservatoire National de Musique de Landes and, since 1986, at  the Conservatoire National de Musique de Landes and now at one of France’s most modern schools, the Conservatoire National de Musique de Boulogne-Billancourt in Paris.

Solo concerts with Orchestre des Jeunes (Bavière) Ensemble Orchestral International of Italy, Chamber Orchestra of Toulouse, « Itineraire ». Participates at the World Saxophone Congresses in Nürenberg, Washington, Kawasaki and Pesaro.
Since 1979 he premieres and promotes new works by : Boudreau, Isaksson, Kynaston, Jakubowski, Lauba, Minamikawa, Mintchev, Myazawa, Pavlenko, Reibel, Rolin, Rossé, Sauguet, Sauvanet, Savouret, Schilling,

Carlosema, Grouvel, Karlins.

Deadcat Bounce – Featuring four saxophones of all ranges plus upright bass and drums, Dead Cat Bounce since 1997 has been the unique artistic vision of founder and composer Matt Steckler. Word of DCB’s high caliber as a performance ensemble has brought them to festivals and concerts nationally, and garnered distinctions from Meet the Composer, Chamber Music America, American Composers Forum, American Music Center, Boston Music Awards, Downbeat, Jazz Times, NYC Jazz Record, All About Jazz, Time Out NY, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Cadence and many others in the creative music community.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: